Can’t abolish the word “fantastic”

Listening to: Martina Topley-Bird – Sandpaper Kisses
via FoxyTunes

So I’ve had a pretty fantastic twenty-four hours.

Last night was the weekly WotW meeting, and we addressed everything that Mary and I had come up with last week.  In the meantime, I had thought of having a newsletter.  It’s another attempt to keep us in better touch, and I think that it’ll work as well as the other might have, had it not been such an unpopular idea.  Everyone is pretty buzzed about this one.  I have high hopes, and I’m going to work on it as soon as I have this blog post done and posted.

Afterwards, Dither and I got to walk around the Eaton carpark, which means I got to walk farther than usual.  It was actually warm enough for a walk round the neighbourhood, so I got a mile or two under my feet that afternoon as well.  Needless to say, I had a nice time.  I always do, with him.  ;P

Work was slow, with early out calls left and right, both voluntary and what I call “forced outs”, but I didn’t have to go to lunch early nor leave before my scheduled end tour.  I listened to Act Your Age, and reached the episode with Henning Wehn, which I hadn’t heard before.  I love Henning Wehn.  :3  This isn’t the best format for him, at least not with that presenter.  Simon Mayo is kind of a lame sod on that show, but he does keep the proceedings going, I’ll give him that.

Either the break just before lunch or during lunch itself, I started writing a story.  It was kind of the way that I wrote The Writing on the Wall, just sort of going and seeing what happened, with only a few little provisos in mind.

It unfolded on its own, getting into a conflict right away, thankfully.  That may have been one of the conditions that I set for it.  It’s fun to see something just coming straight out of my head again.

After work, I finally got over myself enough to ask my mum to drive out to one of the almost abandoned roads beyond the REC, and I drove the van down most of it.  It was the second time I’ve ever driven, and it was a lot less nerve-wracking than deciding to do it.  I got practise just operating a vehicle, and pulling over.

I’ve got a hunch that I’m going to be doing a lot of the latter.

When we got home, I was still pretty jazzed about it, so I asked if I could back out of the driveway.  I didn’t do all that well, but I backed out of the driveway and then drove round the cul-de-sac and parked in front of the house.  I’m awful, but at least I’m learning how to do it.

I finally got to sleep around 8:30 this morning, after getting something to eat so my pills wouldn’t make me sick, and that something was a piece of a piece of cheesecake.

It’s been a good day.

Now I’m going to get to work on the newsletter.  I’ve never written one before, and when I’ve been on sending lists of them in the past, I’ve tended not to read them, so I don’t have a writing voice for such a thing, but it’ll be interesting to try.

Leave a Reply

