Why I recommend listening to audiobooks while going to sleep

Listening to: “Champagne in a Paper Cup” – Death Cab for Cutie

It is truly amazing how little my body asks of me when it comes to sleep. I went to bed around three AM and I just woke up about ten to five. I don’t feel particularly tired or even sore (that last one is kind of rare). I tried to go back to sleep, but it just didn’t happen.

Considering the fact that I was listening to Harry Potter und der Stein du Weisen, it’s not at all surprising that I had a dream about Harry and Ron. Just those two. When I woke up, I was at the chapter with the sorting hat, which I will return to later.

In my dream, they were running from someone called Patra, but I don’t remember what it was that made her evil. She was unstoppable, and they couldn’t hide anywhere. There was this oddly cycling path of attempting to get transportation. She had a tall henchman who was actually her brother, and she was quite terrifying in person.

Not for physical reasons, just her general quiet evil. Sort of like a backwards Yoda.

They kept trying this inn that was either doubling as or adjacent to a tailor. The tailor tried costumes, but that got them caught, and the dream rewinded, jerking back to a point in the dream a bit further back. They asked him about his vehicle or horse, whichever he was supposed to have, but he’d lost it in paying back a gambling debt.

They moved on to the inn, desperately seeking a hiding place or a discreet exit, weaving through the other people and knowing the Patra could show up behind them at any moment. They climbed up the wall and found a vent for the heating, and finally found a sort of hidey hole with two windows and a bench formed out of a roll or a bump in the actual stone of the wall.  They had to angle themselves just so, to avoid being seen through the windows.

I woke up after that.  Odd indeed.

When I woke up, I found out why this audiobook is one of the coolest things ever.  He sings the songs. And he’s not at all bad. In fact, he’s quite enjoyable. Ever since I started listening to Der Stein du Weisen, I’ve wished I knew the reader’s name, I want to look him up otherwise and see what else he’s read.  He goes on my list, right up there with Simon Prebble and Simon Jones.

Even though his name is probably not Simon.

Leave a Reply

