Anson encounter details

This one is not one of my favourites. I’m not entirely sure of why. True, it’s too long, but they have gotten progressively longer, and Candle was proof that when an encounter focuses on social interaction and is actually missing combat, it tends to take more writing to get from one thing to another. But Anson’s encounter also took me quite a while to write. I just couldn’t get into it.

I actually rewrote the beginning a couple of times. Not from scratch, just very significant details changed. The initial plan did not change much–I wanted to use the game’s Perils system, which is actually just a guideline. I decided to explode something. At first, that was going to be his office, but then I realised what a deterrent that would be to the story. His office is the home of his Family, and anything affecting them all so greatly should not come before the party is all together.

Anyway, once he got to the place it was safe to blow up, I ran through the Peril guidelines. The first question one must ask oneself when directing a peril, is if it can be avoided. Airship pirates are firing on the port, which is near Anson’s location. So no. Cannot avoid. Next question is how much damage does it cause? An explosion is a moderate peril, which would give it a damage dice pool of 3-6.

I decided to give him a bit of a chance and give him a kind of pseudo-avoidance roll. He can’t avoid the peril, but he can avoid the damage. He rolled Wits 2 + Perception 3, for a pool of 5, and got 1 success. So he was able to hide under the table and avoid damage, but he was still in a dangerous building.

While I could have made more checks on the stability of the structure or other things, it would have made for an even longer post, and it was already pretty long by that point.

Dice rolls started sliding into place at this point, so it was a simple check of Leadership 3 + Presence 2 every time he tried to comfort or direct the NPCs. He tended to roll low for interactions with Morgan, while he rolled a 3 when interacting with Cass, which is why she trusted him enough to hand him her baby.

Healing was one of the systems I hadn’t gotten to use yet, and was pretty much saving for Anson, because duh, he’s the doctor. His first roll, healing Morgan, was actually a regular skill check, as I did not specify stats or health point loss for Morgan. Which was lucky, as with a pool of 11, Anson managed to fumble out a single success. He gets 5 dice for using a doctor’s bag/medical kit (this basically makes it an Easy roll), to go with his Medicine 4 and Wits 2. I found it funny that his Skill Speciality for Medicine is OB-Gyn.

I like accrediting his magnificently low success to that. But I did throw in another tremor just in case, and it gave Morgan a chance to explain the explosion. It’s not supposed to be a big deal. Everyone’s encounters give them something to follow up on in their personal lives, but they aren’t always big things. In this case, Anson may choose to check up on the Teech family in future, which for his character, is just as pressing as Edelweiss’s enemy-making repercussions, Surinder’s involvement with Lady Magna, Candle’s accidental “regulars”, and Jess’s rescued charge.

When it came to governing Cass’s healing, I did not make up stats, but I did give her an average amount of health points (6) and decided that her injury had knocked her down to 2 health points. Anson would have to roll 4 successes out of his healing pool of 11 to heal her completely.

He rolled 10 successes.

It was amazing. I only had 9 white dice, as usual, so I rolled all nine and came up with 5 ones right off the bat, as well as 2 sixes. I re-rolled the sixes and got nothing, but then rolled the remaining 2 dice to complete the pool. They both came up six, bringing him to 9 successes. I re-rolled those sixes one last time, and one of them came up one. 10 successes.

This was too cool not to make a hybrid of the success scale and healing process. On the success scale, 10 is an “amazing performance”, and 10 was more than enough to heal her lost 4 points. Most of that was spent in the quiet, underlook-able awesomeness of pulling a splintery piece of wood out of a person. Smoothly. It may be hard to notice, but he actually pulled it out in exactly the right way to avoid causing further damage.

Winding down was a bit difficult, but I managed it all right, I think. Now I need to go back and make a timestamped entry for why I did not post yesterday. This was part of it, but not the whole reason.

It’s kind of funny though. I miss one day, and my views go down to zero immediately.

Leave a Reply

