Patchwork quilting as an approach to writing

In a previous entry, I mentioned that I’m working on a lot of different things, sort of at once. It’s also reflected in the other posts on my blog for the last couple of weeks. The continuation of a single post into my own hopeful blog trend, Into the Rift with art, going back over the now-infamous Every Time We Say Hello, and normal stuff like mentions of We Have to Start Somewhere and Petticoats and Pipewrenches.

I’m also making an occasional note on Yarny for another project that I’ve talked about on my blog, but never really got a chance to actually write much about. If I don’t put up a cull line, I’m going to get in over my head, or at the very least, limit my time.

But I want to do all of it. With my head still in a ruddy knot, I can’t do more than patchwork quilt from one project to the next, bouncing as my mind mushes on one thing and then the other. If I can blog like this, I must be ready to open up something and do it, yeah? I’ve got stuff in Yarny, Evernote, WordPress, even LitLift or yWriter 5, if I were to push backwards for older projects I never wanted to lose.

Maybe it would be better to push something, but right now, whenever I try to decide what to push at, I immediately stop wanting to do it. That’s not terribly encouraging. Man, I feel so crappy right now that I can’t even live up to the post title. I should just set up a rotation and write in each until it starts to pinwheel into a life of colours and productivity.

Variety is the spice of life. I can barely eat curry, but I need my writing life spiced to hell.

Leave a Reply

