Book and griffin progress report

Reading: The Yellow Fairy Book compiled by Andrew Lang; 10.7%

So far, I have been able get a good assesment of my abilities during what I call the Honeymoon Stage. It all looks pretty good right now, but I have yet to be truly swamped. And the week still promises plenty of opportunity.

As I don’t hold out a lot of hope for the list to grow longer and it isn’t that long, I don’t want to list out the books I have finished for this month just yet. There are three, all of them on my last list of Read But Not Finished.

Mini-rant: Somehow, I managed to finish The Sighs of Suzumiya Haruhi. The first book, The Melancholy of Suzumiya Haruhi, had its problems, but it intrigued me. Interesting things happened, and the climax at the end was unexpected, cerebral, and even a little xute and bittersweet. I’d rather the second book had been a retread than an incredibly tedious account of a story that the anime covered in the often-skipped Episode 00.

This is an anime that had five episodes that were not only almost identical, but all animated from scratch.

Anyway, the other two books were much better. I may write about The Fury another day. A book with twists I actually believed.

Today, I’ve mostly been working on my griffin. It’s looking pretty good. I’m going back to it after I post this, and there’s a meeting tonight, so hopefully I’ll get even more done. Right now, I’m debating some questions of colour. Originally, it was going to be brown, but since I used black to outline, I think I might see if I have a dark grey and then use the brown for the talons.

image

2 thoughts on “Book and griffin progress report

Leave a Reply

