Old dream from an old journal

I don’t think I’ve posted anything about this dream here, and if I have, then it was long enough ago that no one will notice. But I was thinking about, and I found the relevant entry, so I thought I’d share it today.

It was set in green plains, covered in grass and heather. There was a prince, fair-haired and sort of quietly angry, younger than the princess, but taller and more responsible. He seemed to have reached the end of his patience with her, and the fault seemed to be hers or his own impatience. He called her Esther, but that was not her name. They were arguing about something while their companions watched.

With them were a wolf, shaped very oddly (deformed?) and kept on a leash of some sort by a large man with a full blonde beard and lighter leather armour than the other men. The wolf spoke and had very strange eyes–all over black as coal, but with a ring of white, almost along the edges. He was an enchanted human, but none of them knew it, least of all him. He thought that a mad wolf(-demon?) they were pursuing was his father and protested hotly as the chase began to reach a turning point.

At that point, he broke free and one of the other companions, another young man, tackled him, breaking the turf and somehow knocking the echanted wolf-person physically out of his enchantment. Fur and large chunks of topsoil lay all round him.

There were other companions, but I can’t remember them. None of those were human.

For a long time, I’ve wanted to write this as a story, but I don’t know when I’ll have time.

Leave a Reply

