Mint Out of the Box

I started writing a story this week. It began with a mental image and a premise, and the promise to myself that it didn’t need to be perfect. I got two chapters in as many days (with a wordcount minimum of 2000, both chapters are slightly longer than that) and at time of writing, I’ve got a couple hundred words in a third chapter.

Frankly, I still have to be careful not to go back and re-read or get too critical of myself. It’s not easy, but I’m managing. So far, I have been using 750 Words for a twenty minute session either at the beginning or in the middle of the day, and spend the rest of the day writing intermittently in WriteMonkey.

Currently, the first chapter can be read here, on Wattpad. I plan to post chapters as I finish the one just ahead of it (2 will go online when I finish 3, so on).

As you can see (and probably guessed) the story is called “Mint Out of the Box”.

It’s about a guy who finds an android in the alley outside the multi-level factory where he works. He takes the thing home, where it inexplicably turns on. Stuff happens. There will be danger and discovery.

Where I’m writing now, it looks kind of like a domestic comedy, and everything could be quite nice. I’m not sure how long that will last.

Anyway, it’d be nice if anyone went round Wattpad and read it. I’m hoping for feedback, but not really expecting it.

Right now, I’m just having fun, and I’m glad I haven’t dropped this story.

Leave a Reply

