Camp NaNoWriMo, a letter home

Dear Home,

BOO YAH.

No, seriously. Just yesterday, I was reminded of the existence of Camp NaNoWriMo. This came completely out of left field for two reasons, one of which was not my fault. The major reason is that I have not been paying attention to that kind of thing. The second reason is their fault, as last year, the first of the two camp months was July. I tried to do it then, but I was kind of about to get married. August was the second month, and I was a bit busy getting married and going on my honeymoon.

It’s pretty funny how the point of NaNo stuff is to pick a time when people are not busy. November is such a bad decision, any student or American will tell you.

Anyway. I mentioned before how I knew I was behind, finding out only on the 4th day. But now, on what is technically my second day of writing, I’m ahead for the usual projected 1667 words every day for 30 days. Day 5 (which this technically is) calls for 8333 words. I have just over 9000. (haha, bad joke, but true). In two days and three writing sessions, I have caught up and surpassed the expected goal.

This is what I’ve been wanting to get back to! Writing 6000 words in 75o Words. Breaking up a total of about 2 hours of writing over the course of a day. Editing when it’s over (not looking forward to it, editing is blah). Selling the book on Smashwords!

DOING IT ALL OVER AGAIN.

Best part, that.

Love,
this person writing this

Leave a Reply

