Showing Restraint

Yesterday, we went to Lava Hot Springs with my family. As with many an enjoyable trip, there isn’t a lot I can say to talk about it and sound interesting. It was a farewell trip for my cousin, who hadn’t been to the hot springs before. Unlike last time, we all pool-hopped. Well, some of us did, anyway. There are about six pools ranging up in heat. Dither and I went into the hottest one with my cousin, but didn’t stay in for long.

On the ride home, I started writing a novel I hope to actually finish. It’s a difficult one to categorise, though. It has elements of the supernatural, but in a light-hearted, humorous way; slice of life; and romance (eventually). It feels like a YA novel, but the characters (and probably target readers) are at least twenty.

I’ll worry about that later, I guess.

Anyway, I’ve been reading a lot lately, trying to review other people’s work on Smashwords. I don’t really have money for a lot of books, though. And the free ones have so far proven to be almost predictably bad.

It doesn’t help that I have really high expectations for books. The ones I did review did not meet them, but that isn’t really what some review systems are for, is it? No one cares if a story is breathlessly short or desperately unfunny.

So I show restraint. Unless I’ve been asked to ruthlessly edit/proofread/beta something, I’ll try to accentuate the positive. But I will never lie. If I am really unsatisfied with a book, I just won’t review it.

Written on my iPad, so there are probably typos. I’m too sleepy to care. We got home pretty late.

Leave a Reply

