New skills

This morning I woke up at 3:30 and couldn’t go back to sleep. So I just got up, showered, and hobbled over to my computer. I was planning on either doing something useful or listening to music.

Last night, my brain was keeping me up with thoughts of Desiderata. I played through our new desert gorge map (no monsters yet) and it looks really good. Then I went through the mass of cutscenes that has for so long comprised Chapter 2.

Altogether, they get pretty dense, but I don’t want to cut any of them. They’re honestly quite good. However, they could stand to be separated by some action and triviality. I made a list of all the cutscenes and basically made some “serving suggestions” inline with that list.

I also fixed some minor errors and the like. But that was all yesterday. What I did today was start to learn parallax mapping.

The tutorial I found is cripplingly 403’d, but it did at least get me started. I made a simple classroom with Celianna’s sets, and I taught myself a few things about available space.

I’d post the picture, but I’m writing this on my mobile. Tonight, maybe. It’d be nice to make a better one and share that.

Leave a Reply

