Up early and thinking too much

My foot looks reminiscent of a rubber glove that someone has turned into a balloon. A few days ago, it looked funny. But walking on it is hard and I’m a little afraid of falling down, so the humour has faded rather. Still, at least it’s not like I have to go to the hospital and get it drained or something gross like that.

It’s a quarter after 4, and I’m trying to decide how I want to spend the extra time I have. Blogging is probably a good thing, but I don’t have a lot to write about right now. Yesterday, I made another attempt to read Elanraigh: The Vow, and it’s just as awful as I remember, with some new features of terrible.

I don’t feel like ranting though. I could go on about how it’s clunky and the pretentious “I can write a fantasy novel look!” aspect of it is so thick that I can barely understand a paragraph on its own, let alone the whole of the novel… but there, I just did. Never mind the forest for the trees, that is a good overall complaint about the book. It is gibberish.

Speaking of gibberish novels… NaNoWriMo in less than two days. I’m still deciding whether or not I want to do it this year. I’m in a slump again, which I don’t know is a good reason to do it or not, and my ability to type has been fluctuating wildly. I guess I’ll just do it if I have an idea, and I won’t if there’s things in my life that require more attention.

If I do it, I would like to be excited about it. But really… I think I can sum up how I’ve come to feel about NaNoWriMo in this fictional exchange:

“Blah blah blah the spirit of NaNoWriMo blah blah”

“The spirit of NaNoWriMo? What the crap, this isn’t freakin’ Christmas.”

I’ve heard so much BS about what is “in the spirit of NaNoWriMo”, and I don’t mean other events like it. Once I was participating with a friend, who stopped writing the story they were working on and writing another–and said, “I think that NaNoWriMo is just about writing at all” or something stupid like that. When I pointed out that, no, it kind of clearly isn’t, this person pitched a fit and generally behaved with all of the grace of Amber Sweet when denied her addictions.

Sure, maybe it’s the kind of thing that you interpret yourself, but when there are clear guidelines on the website. “The goal is to write a 50,000-word (approximately 175-page) novel by 11:59:59 PM on November 30.”

Okay it’s 4:25, now I’m going to go have breakfast.

2 thoughts on “Up early and thinking too much

Leave a Reply

