NaNo 2012 Day 3

As one might be able to tell from my late posting time (it’s a quarter to 19 here), I was not feeling much like writing today. I don’t know if it’s because I’m getting an extra dose of fatigue or what, but every time I thought about writing my novel or sat down to do so, I couldn’t get more than a few words.

So instead, I worked on the game. It’s going really well. Dither started his own playtest (and he is a better playtester than I am, he knows how to break stuff) and we found a way that he can work on new maps while I continue to work on the events in this enormous city.

The maps he’s working on right now are all new areas beyond that city. Which kinda makes me glad. We still need to make a pub and an arena (interior maps), and if I make them, then that means that I mapped this entire city by myself. It’ll be quite an accomplishment if I manage it. Not that it’s a special one, just special to me. As I’ve said before, I didn’t map well at all before.

I didn’t actually get to writing seriously until about an hour ago. Conscious of my reluctance to write, I did some maths to figure out how much I needed to finish the chapter, and then input that into the Write or Die desktop app. Love that program. I think I got what I needed in 30 minutes, but I don’t have a record of that so I won’t boast.

Probably what was giving me trouble was that I had kind of hit a meaty part of the premise, and also a very talky bit of the book. There are three characters, who can all be quite chatty, and I’m not sure what to do with the new guy.

Maybe tomorrow I’ll go more into what the book is about, as well as a picture of the mock cover. But right now, I’m a little worried about whether or not it’ll give way to a greater plot. As are the characters.

I have five chapters completeed, a sixth started, and I’m 5 days ahead of the NaNo schedule. I’m only going to post the widget in every other post, though. I don’t think I need a million of them on my blog. Maybe every three posts.

Leave a Reply

