Reading Challenge Day 9

May not finish a book today either. Both because I spent some time reading one of my unlisted holds, and because I’ve been rather ill. I don’t think I mentioned it yesterday, but my throat started draining and I had a headache and other such symptoms. Today my throat feels like a garden ready for planting (an old favourite euphemism), my nose is stuffed up, I’m even more tired than usual, and my head continues to hurt off and on.

I got some chicken soup (and Pepsi, though I probably shouldn’t have) and I’m listening to Vertical Horizon. Some of their terminally mellow stuff, like Sunrays and Saturdays. So I should mend at some point. I’m actually surprised that it took me this long to get sick. My immune system is hardly a road warrior right now.

Heh, I love shuffle. My mellow song ended and Winamp rolled up with Beastie Boys.

Anyway, reading. I’m about thirty or forty pages into The Constantine Affliction, which I picked because of the gender-swapping nature of the titular illness. Of course, I had forgotten this by the time I started to read it, so Freddy took me by surprise. Not unpleasant surprise, just sort of neutral unexpected surprise. I really like Payton’s style, and while I’m on the fence as to whether the book itself really fits into the steampunk genre or not, it’s probably as fulfilling as more easily categorised steampunk novels I have read and liked.

The reason I’m not sure if it’s steampunk is partially due to a review claiming it wasn’t, which put me in a mind to examine it. Electricity is mentioned often (so far, anyway) as a vogue technology, but there are also clockwork prostitutes. Prince Albert and Queen Victoria are mentioned, and may play a  more direct part later–at least, QV’s “rumoured lover” will, I’m sure.

All in all, I’m enjoying it. I just don’t think I’ll be awake enough to finish it today. I also feel like writing something. Maybe just an unshareable scribble.

Leave a Reply

