Reading Challenge Day 12

Past two days were spent being quite, quite ill. I actually managed to finish a book a day each, though. One I finished with about fifteen minutes left in the day, but I had also spent most of that day insensible or asleep. It’s been a while since I was this out of commission. I think I forgot my name for about an hour.

I finished reading The Constantine Affliction on Day 10. It was really fun. Definitely steampunk, although there are some surprising Cthulhu elements. All in all, it really makes me wish that the ebook wasn’t ridiculously priced. Another one for the shelf, sometime. It always takes me longer to buy print copies. At least I’ve already read it, so I won’t be itching for the read.

Day 11, I started Maskerade. It’s a lot shorter than I remembered, but that’s probably a good thing, considering how short a time my brain had to be put to actual use. I did realise at some point that it’s one of the few Discworld books that I’ve only ever read in print, although I have heard a few different performances of Nanny Ogg and Granny Weatherwax. Makes me want to listen to the audiobook I have, as that is read by Nigel Planer.

…less than two minutes in, and I love it. How could I not?

Feeling so incredibly pregnant. Insomnia is either that or the nasty cold (or whatever has got me sick) and every time I have to turn over onto my other side, I can feel little protests from a second party. Breathing does not always feel such a treat, let me tell you. Right now I’m mostly sitting up so that congestion doesn’t take me over like an army conquering an unsuspecting country.

Mind keeps wandering. There are a couple of things I want to do, but I can’t bring myself to do them. I could read the next book on my list (listed items are down to five, I think) but I don’t feel like reading. It’s partially that digestion period that comes after finishing a book (particularly a good one, re-read or not), and partially that I spent a good deal of time reading at a straight run and my brain and body both need a change.

Leave a Reply

