Reading Challenge COMPLETE!

I finished reading Sushi for Beginners this morning, but then I fell asleep, so I’m blogging now. It was a good book, although if I think on it too hard, I would probably be inclined to dwell on the things that didn’t really work for me. Certainly not impressive on a technical level (“you” in the narrative, switching POVs in an eyebrow-raising manner), but it’s built on expectations in a very odd way.

Not in the way that most romance novels are, in that expectations are gently coddled throughout. Nor does it really feel like the coin flip of deliberate subversion. I just felt like it very deliberately kept me in a state of being unable to guess what would happen. That faded pretty much completely by the end, but that’s a good thing. The further in you get, the more you want the things you want to happen… er, to happen.

And that’s a good thing to say about a book, isn’t it? At least it made me care about what happened. Especially good since I only liked one or two of the characters. Two of the three major viewpoint characters made me want to commit acts of violence upon them for… if not all of the book, then certainly most of it.

The funny thing is, this book really is not my genre. I’ll watch movies with the same plotline, but then, a movie is between 90-126 minutes most of the time. I spent a lot longer reading this book. I anticipated even longer than I did take, but then found that the last 20 pages were devoted to a short story that I could not care less about.

READ:

  1. Book of a Thousand Days by Shannon Hale
  2. The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty by AN Roquelaure
  3. Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos by RL LaFevers
  4. Jingo by Terry Pratchett
  5. Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr *
  6. Krondor: The Betrayal by Raymond E Feist
  7. Bumped by Megan McCafferty
  8. Tender Morsels by Margo Lanagan
  9. The Constantine Affliction by T Payton
  10. Maskerade by Terry Pratchett
  11. Graceling by Kristin Cashore
  12. Living Dead in Dallas by Charlaine Harris *
  13. Club Dead by Charlaine Harris *
  14. Dead to the World by Charlaine Harris *
  15. Sushi for Beginners by Marian Keyes

* replacement for reason of sanity rescue

I did it with… three or four days to spare. (this is day 19, right?) I still have four Southern Vampire Series books to finish, and I checked out a copy of the eighth book, just in case I don’t finish it by the time the loan runs out.

One thought on “Reading Challenge COMPLETE!

Leave a Reply

