Visual stimulation

I am a bit of a sucker for a cool image. Old-time followers and friends of mine know I’m a stupid fan of Jason Chan (to the point of reading a few of the absolutely REVOLTING books for which he provided covers) and I have based one or two novels on iconic things I ran across. I like doing that, it’s a good incentive to start and continue. It can also be a good way to procrastinate, but we’re going to be positive and pretend I didn’t say that.

But I digress.

I want someone to see this and write something cool.

Lou Diamond Phillips as the villain. Need I say more?

Anyway, this is the kind of thing I want someone else to look at and then write a novel. Someone decent. Hopefully not anyone on deviantART under the age of 20 and unpublished. I’ve seen lots of those. They take their visual inspiration too much to heart and try to write what they saw instead of what they thought. Exactly what they saw. Let’s say it’s an illustration of a man communing with fairies while painting. That writer will invariably write a short story (or a SCENE, oy) of a man communing with fairies while painting.

Never would that person write about a man who was once a fairy and must tell his still-fairy cousins he is too busy with a commission to go back for the wedding of his princely brother. Oh no.

But anywho. I’d write this, but I don’t trust myself. Not that I’d be lame and just copy what I see, but that I would peter out or depart too much from what I wanted to do in the first place. Because that’s what I do.

One thought on “Visual stimulation

Leave a Reply

