Ink Exchange gripes

I have a fever in my HANDS. This feels really stupid and incredibly uncomfortable, so I just want to complain about everything. I did have something I actually wanted to talk about, but every time I try to think about it, I start to fall asleep (it’s not boring, I’m simply that fatigued) or my mind wanders. Tried to read and then to take a nap, but neither worked, and now my hands are boiling as they swell.

Arthritis really sucks sometimes. It’s worse since yesterday I felt rather good and the swelling one of my knees that prodded my doctor to check for a blood clot was down. For less than eight hours.

It was tempting to just draw something or find a funny picture and half-arse this post. Whinging probably isn’t much better, especially since it’s more to do with my reading. Melissa Marr can write well, but she’s a little too… crafty. Wicked Lovely has a lot of problems, like pretty much everything does (there is no such thing as perfection, after all) Sadly, one of the problems is that she can write well.

Ever hear the writing advice, if it looks like writing, then cut it? All of her writing looks like writing. In Ink Exchange, she uses words like solipsistic, and spends so much energy on “beautiful” description that I feel like I’ve been overeating candy every time I read any portion of the book. She also seems to be cripplingly terrified of having any of her characters disliked. This is bad enough, but that fear is perceptible in-universe. None of the characters ever dislike another–unless that character is the bad guy. Somehow this continues even when a character is intended to be violently hated.

It’s really off-putting and one of the lesser known tendencies of a Suethor.

Hand in hand with all of those things, she has precisely one character. Maybe two at a stretch, as it may be argued that if there is a romance, there are technically two characters involved. But they all behave the same way. Even the antagonist in IE has the exact same opinion on rape as every one else. This is not an exaggeration. One might argue this is simply overcompensating in an attempt to be sensitive, but it still looks bad.

The two books are also barely different from each other. It’s the same basic story, it’s almost the same exact romance. The characters all act the same, although the ones who were centred upon in the first book took a level in sanctimonious in the second.

Which was another glaring problem that explains why I personally refuse to believe that the opinions on rape have to do with sensitivity. In Ink Exchange, the protagonist Leslie is severely traumatised by a (likely recent) gang-rape that happened because of her brother. (guess what else every character acts the same about. yup, brothers. they even use the same words to talk about it) She keeps this and many other things about her broken home life secret.

And instead of having a heart-to-heart, Aislinn insults her for being promiscuous (!!!!!!!!), and Leslie later finds out from Aislinn’s boyfriend that both Aislinn and he have known about the rape. And said nothing. And didn’t even make doomed attempts to help her escape her literally dangerous home.

This made me so sick I had to drop my iPad.

They talked about it like it was knowledge they had been in possession of for quite some time. I’m about 40 pages from the end, and this girl has still not talked to her friend about her experiences. Oh, and even better–Aislinn kept knowledge of fairies and junk from the protagonist, saying unironically that she doesn’t want to make decisions for Leslie. Because that’s not PRECISELY WHAT THE CRAP SHE IS DOING.

sigh.

Crowning moment of stupid? Thanks to Aislinn being a dumbass, Leslie has the worst happen to her. Had she known about fairies, had her friends bothered to be friends instead of caring more about their bloody secrets  than her, she could have been saved. In many, many different ways.

Not a series I’m going to continue after this point. For one thing, I don’t think I could read the same book a third time. [\burn]

Leave a Reply

