My Trouble with Starts

Biggest thing is second-guessing. Procrastination and fog account for a lot, but once I do get started writing, I almost immediately begin to see what I haven’t done right, and that has lots of different effects. None of them good. Yeah, I know, Sturgeon’s Revelation and all that. And it’s more important to get it done than to get it done right the first time.

I can’t help it, I’m a perfectionist. Also, while reading about some people’s nightmare experiences with software that ate writing (the horrors of not having an undo button are indeed great), I came across someone who pointed out that there are so many things that come along while writing that it’s usually (they said always) impossible to get back what’s been lost.

One builds on a foundation as one writes and continues writing. If that foundation is made of jam, it’s not going to make a terribly strong hotel, is all I’m saying.

It makes sense to me, even if it’s just another excuse in the end. Heaven knows I’ve tonnes of them. I do have an idea of what I want to write, at least. The problem is, the easiest thing anyone can do to help or push me along (since I’m not doing it), has to do with planning.

Plans and outlines work great for other people, but I don’t tend to work well with them. I like to edge-of-my-seat things, thanks to ADHD and a rather long history of that style of writing working for me.

Life to follow:

Oh yeah, doctor said no medication until Owen is born, which is pretty much what I expected. What I didn’t expect was for him to suggest that I have the most organised birth ever (‘induce’ is not as fun to say). I have an appointment with the other doctor in less than a week, so we’ll see what she thinks.

I don’t think mine is a high risk pregnancy (there’s certainly no Rh problem, thank heaven), but sometimes I feel like I’m treated as though it is. That can be good and bad. I do have a complication or two.

One thought on “My Trouble with Starts

  1. “Your knowledge of the LAN will be great.”

    Sorry, I read the bit where you were talking about other peoples’ software nightmares, and thought, “Your knowledge of the software will be great,” but I thought the homophone would be funnier. It reminds me of 750 Words in a bad way.

Leave a Reply

