Book mini-reviews part 1

Looking over my list, I don’t think I really want to go back over books I’ve already talked about, and I also realised that most of the books I read don’t need a full review. Aside from Divine Misfortune, I’m just going to write a few short reviews about the stuff that I read in my second challenge.

St George by Giles Morgan – There is a wealth of information in this book, quite a bit of which was new to me. I thought it was a good length, but there didn’t seem to be much in the way of organisation. It would have been nice if Morgan had had some kind of overarching theme or argument to prove. For example, St George’s affiliation with widely varied groups. Still, it was a lot of good information presented well and in a manner that was easy to understand.

Dragon Slippers by Jessica Day George – An excellent YA novel, especially for girls. There were a few delightfully subverted tropes, without sacrificing the story’s status as a guaranteed comfort read. The action is a little harsh on consequences, but although that isn’t a trend I’d like to see in this sort of novel, perhaps it is well-suited to this one.

The Dark Reunion by LJ Smith – Personally, I thought that the story wrapped up perfectly well (if sadly) in the preceding books. This book felt like an editorial mandate. (Considering how LJ Smith was later treated by her publisher, it might have been.) However, the characters continued their previous development well, and increased my sympathy for them. It was particularly nice to see that Stefan and Damon did not just forget their years of troubles with one another to play nice. The ending is a little too fairy-tale-ish for my taste, but I can’t really complain, as it does feel like the way that it ought to have ended.

Superman by Larry Tye – All I should have to say about this one is that I want to buy a copy for my husband. It is a deep well of history on the iconic superhero, without pretension or undue apologising for the parties involved in his complicated legal history. I love reading about comic book history, even when it comes to the sad bits, such as legal battles and the speculator bubble.

The Raven Prince by Elizabeth Hoyt – Usually, I’m at least satisfied with Hoyt’s romances, but this one left me a bit cold. I found her usual inclusion of a fairy tale within the book proper to be clumsy, which made it feel… I’m not sure if I want to say ‘pandering’ or ‘self-indulgent’. The heroine was sympathetic and strong, but the hero was another shouty alphole that irritated me. He didn’t seem mature or genial enough to deserve her. When he found out that the heroine had deceived him, his behaviour really put me off. I dislike when one character simply refuses to let another explain herself, especially when the reason is clearly so that the writer can draw out the drama.

Do Elephants Jump by David Feldman – This was actually a bit disappointing. I’m not sure why, either. It was a collection of odd questions that are not easily answered. I skimmed the questions I had no interest in, and there was at least one that I boggled at as it was incorrect and I knew why. (I’ve forgotten it now, of course) Still, it’s apparently part of a series, so one is probably as good as another, or they might be dependant on what questions are addressed.

…wow, I hadn’t realised just how many books I read. Fifteen doesn’t seem like much until you look deeper. I’ll stop here and finish up either tomorrow or next week.

Leave a Reply

