Pain, the Great Demotivator

When I woke up this morning, I knew it was going to be a hard day. So far, I’ve run into a larger number of speed bumps than usual. It took me nearly ten minutes to stand up. This includes psyche-up time, of course. Although I managed to get through my morning ablutions, I only got the most essential pills. I needed a benadryl and my prenatal pill, but there was no way I could have gotten a bowl of cereal put together and carried it anywhere, and it’s not like I could stand in the kitchen long enough to eat.

Basically, I needed hubby help almost immediately upon waking up. Good thing I woke up at 6:00. Unfortunately, that does mean I couldn’t get in the shower and refuse to come out until 10:00. I can probably do that now, though.

My hands and wrists are so swollen that I have to take a break from typing about every 5-20 seconds. Something horrible seems to have happened to Freerice, so I can’t do that part of my normal routine (listening to a narrator reading while playing Freerice), which I find a bit upsetting. On a range from “vaguely” to “derailed morning”.

Thirty-five weeks in, and thirty-five days to go. I am so plumping for Owen to be three weeks early. It’d make his grandpa happy–Dad’s birthday is the 22nd.

My blood pressure actually seems to have gone down, as yesterday it was only 143/95 according to the little machine that I can’t help distrusting. I’ve been feeling Braxton Hicks more often, which is interesting. I’m still fussing over baby movement, but I’m not really worried. I’m just a fusspot.

At a standstill on many things. When I’m hurting this much, it makes it hard to work on Desiderata, and I can’t use the iPad at all, nor read any paperbacks. Good time to get a superlight Kindle. I use it with one hand and occasionally pass out on the couch. The only thing I have trouble with is the hold button.

Today might be a nothing sort of day. I just hope that I can get myself feeling well enough to walk around for a few minutes, for the sake of keeping my knee from relapsing.

I wish I had a more interesting topic for blogging today, but I hurt too much to really think.

Leave a Reply

