Twerps in Capes

Already, I’ve made some changes from last time. Like the casting director who requests a hair dye job. Simone’s name is now Cressida Cotton, since her origin calls for a more floofy name and I wanted to keep that one from the ashes of the invasion game. Other than it now being The Cressida Cotton Effect, it’s the same as it was.

This one is for a more YA (possibly 9-12?) idea, and although the title isn’t any great shakes, it’s better than the nothing I had before trying. Summary/treatment:

Three girls, all superhero offspring, first meet in daycare, then again years later when they must go away to a special school to get control of their erratic powers. At first, the school seems as if it might deliver, but then they stop hearing from their parents and things start to get weird.

Audition Set #2

  • First Person

“Only babies insist on playing without powers,” I said, twirling a lock of hair around my finger.

Shannon looked up from the temporary tattoo she’d been picking at all morning. She made a snorting noise with her lips. It sounded like an elephant had learned to laugh through a correspondence course. “You’re just saying that because your powers are useless in any game more sophisticated than hide ‘n seek.”

It was true, but I didn’t have to admit it. I leaned back on my bed, pillowing my head on my arms. “Like superspeed is good for anything but Tag.”

“It is, though.” She went back to picking at the temporary tattoo on her leg. “Red Rover and dodgeball, for starters.”

Astrid put the kibosh on that train of thought by saying, “Oh no, I am not playing dodgeball.”

“Doesn’t flying make dodgeball easy?”

“It makes me an easy target, is what it does. Basketball, though…”

We were in my room again. Ever since Shannon’s roommate had exploded their bathroom pipes somehow, and somebody with weather powers had managed to scare off the sun with apparent permanence, it was the only safe option.

Thinking of the weather kid reminded me to glance at my watch. We had to keep track of the time that way until someone in the faculty either fixed the light issue or called in another, grown-up, super to deal with it.

Leave a Reply

