Keeper of the Keys

This pretty much has to be a series. It’s an idea I’ve had for a while, largely born of my love for the Oz books and the magical fairy land of Oz itself. Particularly the odd sorts of creatures that can be found there–for example the Hungry Tiger–and the plant life. Thanks to the lunch tree, my magical land has things like smartphone trees. But probably not actually those. Just something in a similar vein. Hopefully more utile and less ridiculous from an outside point of view.

As it’s an older idea, it needed some deciding. Originally, the keeper of the keys came to the land from outside of it, but I don’t know if I still want that to be the case. Also, this one is going to be shorter (and I’ll probably have to edit a couple of metadata type things on this post and the rest later) because Owen had a doctor’s appointment, and then I couldn’t get to a computer.

Summary/treatment: In the magical land of Vo, the keeper of the keys seeks out his charges: four young women who can open the doors to Vo’s neighbouring magical lands: Za, Ek, and Ip, and Fu.

  • First Person

The timing could have been better. My cousins were coming out to help with the festival, and all those extra mouths meant less food and more chatter. For the next month, I’d be busy and deaf.

Still, I was lucky to have a place in the kitchen this year. Doubly lucky, with this new complication.

“They need me here.” I kept my eyes on the dough I was kneading. “It’s not that I don’t believe in augury, but I don’t see how yours led you to me.”

The hooded figure looked out of place in our bright kitchen. He was arrayed in a symphony of grey, and though he was about my height and broader in the shoulders, there was something small and thin about his presence. “If I explained it, would you come with me?”

The honest answer was no, and I said as much. He sighed, and the air seemed to catch a chill.

“I’ll return later then.”

“After harvest,” I said, returning my gaze to the food. I didn’t believe for a moment that he’d come back.

Leave a Reply

