Someday Serial

Obviously, since I’ve decided to do Camp NaNo, my plans for a blog serial are on hold. I definitely won’t do it until after April, but I don’t know when the second month of Camp is, or if I’ll want to participate. For now, everything is up in the air.

I think I know what I want to write, though. I had started one, and it would be easy to just continue it. But I’m not sure how I feel about what I’ve written. I’m extremely critical of my own work.

But then, I’ve done serials on my blog before, with no editing. They were pretty weird. They also came from using 750 Words. It’s now a subscription site, but I think I’m one of the people who signed up during the first three years of the site’s life. That means my account should have a grandfathered, free for life status. In fact, I think I joined before it was even a year old. Weird.

Anyway, the serial I have in mind is about a sort of reality-show-slash-party. A king and queen of a made-up country are forcing their son to participate in a dating game, at which he shall be the centre, because he’s gotten in trouble too many times and they need the tourism. It’s all very silly. To help fluff out the crowd, the directors hire professional party guests, all of whom get a little too involved in proceedings.

I might use the writing I’ve already done, but if I don’t, then I’ll post what I did do, and then start fresh with a better structure. Or not.

And now I have to give Owen a bath so that he’ll stop being angry with me for not letting him stick his fingers in outlets.

Leave a Reply

