Camp NaNo start of Week 2

Ugh. I got absolutely nothing done on the weekend, and kind of had a freak-out. I knew I wouldn’t get to write, but I didn’t think it would bother me as much as it did. This morning wasn’t too bad though. I didn’t get a chance to write until about 11:00, which is pretty normal, so I didn’t worry about it. I wrote about 700 words while Owen napped, but he only slept for half an hour, so that was all that happened.

Owen was full of energy, probably left over from getting to play with his cousins and basically be almost the centre of attention. We played for a few hours, and I felt like Super Mum (or Yay-Yay, as he calls me). He finally crashed about an hour and a half ago. He’s still asleep, but I don’t really expect that to go on.

After he fell asleep the second time, I managed to bring today’s wordcount to about 2300, but I feel like I need to make up for the weekend, and that means I need at least another 2700 words. I was going to write 6K, but no. Just no. I’m tired, at a really awkward part of the story, and I just don’t feel like writing any more. It is break time.

I have 21,125 words, and I’m a 2/3 done with chapter 7. Some of it was written while listening to an audiobook. Because my brain cannot do one thing at a time. I am the empress of multitasking!

Highlight of today:

It was that simple, where Adam stood. Adam had his own world, one with a sky even stranger than the one hanging over the city like a capricious god. Nathan would have liked a vacation there sometime.  “Easier said than done. She’s not helpless, but she is unarmed, and we need to find her fast. We can’t just run around blind.”

Adam passed the crowbar from one hand to the other and back. For a few seconds, he said nothing. When Nathan had first started working for NKSR, he’d been impatient. Unable to see a lot of what made Adam tick. Three years later, he could see the wheels turning.

The crowbar stopped moving, clasped in Adam’s right hand. He pointed it up at the sun. “Then we blind the city. It uses the sky to see. That’s how it knows where to materialize automatons, how it knows which streets to change around.”

“Autom–you mean the golems?”

“Sure. I keep forgetting you’re Jewish.”

Nathan raised an eyebrow. He was, but that didn’t seem relevant.

I’ve been listening to The Aquabats and Cage the Elephant a lot lately. They are getting into my dreams. In the last one, Jimmy the Robot fought Lord Zed with Matt Shultz. It might also have something to do with the fact that I based Adam Frost on Christian Jacobs.

Leave a Reply

