Cinders and Sapphires – book thoughts

As usual, I have way too many books on my Currently Reading list (although I don’t think I’ve used my official Currently Reading list on Goodreads for a long time). Yesterday, I had the apartment to myself, so I just picked the library book that was due back earliest, and read the whole thing.

That book was Cinders and Sapphires, by Lila Rasheed. The title is nice, but it has about as much to do with the book as kittens have to do with NASCAR. Unless the idea was to be a kind of Upstairs Downstairs thing, which… no. Just no.

Summary from Goodreads: Rose Cliffe has never met a young lady like her new mistress. Clever, rich, and beautiful, Ada Averley treats Rose as an equal. And Rose could use a friend. Especially now that she, at barely sixteen, has risen to the position of ladies’ maid. Rose knows she should be grateful to have a place at a house like Somerton. Still, she can’t help but wonder what her life might have been had she been born a lady, like Ada.

For the first time in a decade, the Averleys have returned to Somerton, their majestic ancestral estate. But terrible scandal has followed Ada’s beloved father all the way from India. Now Ada finds herself torn between her own happiness and her family’s honor. Only she has the power to restore the Averley name-but it would mean giving up her one true love … someone she could never persuade her father to accept.

I had to find a summary rather than write my own because even less than a day after reading it, I’ve forgotten what this book is supposed to be about. It’s easier to remember things that happened, and the awful romance.

The entanglements in this book were really over the top. There was so much drama that it could have been made into a sundae, or possibly some much heavier dessert that’s less popular. But only two of the viewpoint characters really matter. Lady Ada Averley and Rose, a maid in the Westlakes’ home.

The drama isn’t really that bad, honestly, it’s just so much, and entirely too dependent on mean girls. Yeah, Lord Westlake did commit an indiscretion and then made it worse with some foolish yet sentimentally correct decisions. Nevertheless, most of the stuff fan-hitting shit is because of antagonists, less than people getting what they deserve.

The book is not bad, not amazing. It’s okay. I liked the characters enough, and I did actually finish reading it after telling myself I’d stop if I didn’t want to keep reading by the fourth chapter. But I gave it two stars, because from the very start, I was forced into this romantic plot arc THING that I was not on board with.

However, that is a differnt topic, so I’ll upload that as a different post after I get some stuff done and get my thoughts in order.

Leave a Reply

